Potentially crazy day @ 39 weeks…

Just thought I would update the due date situation, as today I am having a prior surgical procedure reversed that will dramatically up my chances of going into labor pronto. Today feels like the first day of the rest of my life, for lack of a better cheesy expression, and last night sleep was nearly impossible. Between the crowded somersaults occurring in my abdomen and the nervousness about becoming a mother I found myself wide awake and nearly nauseous, reminiscent of my own anxiety ridden childhood nights before a first day back at school.

So the procedure is happening at a hospital but provided that I do not immediately go into labor as a result (which is still totally possible) then I plan to go to the Casa di Maternita mentioned in earlier posts for the birth. Regardless, we are still coming to this hospital with overnight bag in tow.

Today is also the day that I meet our future pediatrician for the first time, armed with a list of interview questions and a fierce sense that this is all very very real and totally amazing. Promise to write more, be it from my computer tonight during another up-all-night-waiting episode, or from the other side of motherhood. Ciao 😉

38.jpg

2 responses to “Potentially crazy day @ 39 weeks…

  1. so has baby expat arrived?

    hope all is well.

  2. Expat baby is too comfy in the womb… has probably heard me complain about Milan too much to be coaxed out 😉 Hopefully any day now– I really want to avoid induction or c-section. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

